Jackson Named To Cheryl Miller Award Top 10

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced the top 10 nominees for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award and Tennessee’s on Wednesday Rickea Jackson comes into question, among other things.

Named for a three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award, in its sixth year, recognizes the top small forwards in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball.

2023 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award nominees*

Elizabeth Balogun, Duke
Rickea JacksonTennessee

Ashley Joens, State of Iowa
Haley Jones, Stanford
Gianna Kneepkens, Utah
Myah Selland, State of South Dakota
Shyanne Sellers, Maryland
Taylor Soule, Virginia Tech
Alyssa Ustby, North Carolina
Madi Williams, Oklahoma

*Players can play in and out of the list at any time during the 2022-23 season

Jackson is averaging 17.7 points, 5.8 rebounds and 1.3 assists across all games while shooting 55.4 percent from the field and 77.3 percent from the free throw line. She averages 20.4 ppg in nine SEC competitions. and 6.1 rpm. 58.5 percent shoot at field goals and 75 percent at the charity stripe.

Among SEC players, the Detroit native 6-foot-2 ranks third in points total and field goal percentage in all games and league competitions. She is seventh in free throw percentage in all games while ranked ninth in conference action.

Jackson is ranked No. 3 among currently active SEC players with 1,475 points and has scored 20 or more points eight times in 2022-23, five of them coming against conference schools. She compiled three straight 20-point finishes from Jan. 8-15 against Vanderbilt (23), Texas A&M (22) and Georgia (23).

Among standout moments, she was named to the Bad Boy Mowers Women’s Battle 4 Atlantis All-Tournament Team, was named SEC Player of the Week on January 3, and delivered a game-winning “and-1” for Tennessee at 1-1 left on the clock in Missouri on January 22nd.

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in the Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies on hoophallawards.com starting Friday, February 3rd. The fan vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.

In March, the five finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame selection committee. The Cheryl Miller Award selection committee is made up of top women’s collegiate basketball players, including members of the media, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award will be presented along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five on a date to be determined. Other awards presented include the Men’s Starting Five, the Nancy Lieberman Award (point guard), the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (shooting guard), the Katrina McClain Award (power forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (center).

For more information on the 2023 Cheryl Miller Awards and the latest updates, visit and follow hoophallawards.com @hophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

| |
Back to top button